The Texas 22nd Race

A forum for discussion about political events or events which caused major future political events.

Moderators: Lass, Lad

Post Reply
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 11:44 am
Political Stand:

The Texas 22nd Race

Post by Hann »

Texas 22nd prepares itself for the next grand election. After attracting considerable attention in the last year as the Democrats came into power, it is gearing for another major victory. The district which is currently represented by Democrat Nick Lampson covers the south-central portion of the Houston-Sugar Land-Baytown metropolitan area. It also includes the cities of Rosenberg and La Marque as well as portions of Missouri City and Pearland, in Fort Bend, Harris, Galveston, and Brazoria counties.

The election in the coming year 2008 will see many known names contesting for the seat of Texas22nd Congressional District. This includes former Sugar Land mayor Dean Hrbacek , former Pasadena mayor John Manlove, former John Cornyn Chief of Staff Pete Olson, Family District Judge Jim Squier, State Representative Bob Talton, and NASA contractor Ryan Rowley.

In the Texas 22nd congressional district 2006 election, the House Majority Tom DeLay, a prominent member of the Republican Party resigned after being indicted and subsequently won the Republican primary. To fill in the seat vacated by DeLay, a special election was held for the remaining term of DeLay. That was also an uncommon event. It was simultaneously followed by the regular general elections. In the special election there were five candidates: four Republicans: Shelley Sekula-Gibbs, Don Richardson, former US Representative Steve Stockman and Giannibecego Hoa Tran, and one Libertarian, Bob Smither. The Democrats were not represented with a candidate. Sekula-Gibbs won that race with approximately 63 percent of the vote and was sworn in as a Member of Congress on November 13, 2006.

The special election was then followed by a general election. In the general election there were three main candidates: Democrat and former US Representative Nick Lampson, Libertarian Party candidate Bob Smither, and Republican Sekula-Gibbs. Only Lampson's and Smither's names appeared on the ballot, as Shelley Sekula-Gibbs had to run as a write-in candidate because DeLay had previously won the Republican primary. In this race, Lampson captured 52% of the vote, to Sekula-Gibbs' 42%, and Smither collected 6%. The district is currently represented by incumbent Lampson, who is appearing for a re-election.

Post Reply